For the best frozen croissants, I’d start with Bridor Ready-to-Bake Croissants for large-batch flexibility, while Wildgrain’s trio stands out for shoppers who want plain, almond, and chocolate pastries in one box. La Francaise’s extra-large butter croissants offer a practical middle ground for serving a crowd without choosing a mixed assortment. The main tradeoffs are batch size, pastry variety, and how much control you want over portions. Some options come in compact counts, while case-sized formats suit frequent baking but need more freezer room. Read on for my full comparison and a guide to choosing the right format for your kitchen.
Get kitchen staples and gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Key Takeaways
- Bridor’s 80-count case suits frequent or high-volume baking; its large quantity is a drawback for occasional breakfasts and limited freezer space.
- Wildgrain’s plain, almond, and chocolate trio provides the broadest flavor choice in this lineup, while single-style packs make it easier to stock one reliable favorite.
- La Francaise’s 3-ounce, 32-count case balances substantial portions with a large supply, whereas the 3.5-ounce, 10-count French croissants favor fewer, larger pastries.
- Small packs such as Fresh Brand’s four-count lower the commitment for a small household, but they offer less flexibility for serving a group.
- Unbaked formats appear across several picks, so buyers should check preparation instructions and plan for baking time instead of assuming every frozen croissant is ready to heat and eat.
| Mini Croissants, 12 Count | ![]() | Best for Sharing | Package weight: 10 oz | Count: 12 mini croissants | Storage: Frozen | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| La Francaise Extra Large Butter Closed Croissants, 3 Ounce, 32 per Case | ![]() | Best for Large Gatherings | Flavor: Butter | Shape: Closed | Size: Extra large | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| La Boulangère Pains au Chocolat, Individually Wrapped, 32 Count | ![]() | Best Individually Wrapped Chocolate Pick | Count: 32 | Packaging: Individually wrapped | Product: Pains au chocolat | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 100% Butter French Croissants, 1.5 oz, Frozen, Unbaked, 15 Count | ![]() | Best for Fresh-Baked Control | Product type: French croissants | Ingredients: 100% butter | Weight per croissant: 1.5 oz | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Fresh Brand Frozen Croissants, 4 Count | ![]() | Best for Small Households | Package weight: 10 oz | Count: 4 croissants | Storage: Frozen | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| SeaBear Bake-at-Home Jumbo Croissants, 18 Count | ![]() | Best for Brunch | Quantity: 18 croissants | Style: French bakery-style | Storage: Frozen for up to 4 months | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Bridor Ready-to-Bake Croissants, 80 per Case | ![]() | Best for High-Volume Baking | Brand: Bridor | Product type: Ready-to-bake croissants | Quantity: 80 per case | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 100% Butter French Croissants, Frozen and Unbaked, 3.5 oz, 10 Count | ![]() | Best for Butter-Focused Baking | Ingredients: 100% butter | Product state: Frozen, unbaked | Weight per croissant: 3.5 oz | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Wildgrain Croissants Trio: Plain, Almond, and Chocolate, Bake from Frozen | ![]() | Best for Flavor Variety | Varieties: Plain, almond, and chocolate | Preparation: Bake from frozen; no thawing required | Bake time: 18–22 minutes | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| frozen croissant | Count | Preparation |
|---|---|---|
| Mini Croissants | 12 mini croissants | — |
| La Francaise Extra Large Butte | — | — |
| La Boulangère Pains au Chocola | 32 | — |
| 100% Butter French Croissants | 15 | Unbaked |
| Fresh Brand Frozen Croissants | 4 croissants | — |
| SeaBear Bake-at-Home Jumbo Cro | — | Rise overnight, then bake |
| Bridor Ready-to-Bake Croissant | — | Ready to bake |
| 100% Butter French Croissants | 10 | Bake at home |
| Wildgrain Croissants Trio: Pla | — | Bake from frozen; no thawing required |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Mini Croissants, 12 Count
Twelve mini croissants make this pack easier to portion for brunch, snack trays, or households where a full-size pastry would be too much. The listing specifies real butter, which distinguishes these from options whose descriptions do not identify the fat used. Compared with the four-piece Fresh Brand Frozen Croissants, this pack offers more individual servings, though each pastry is mini-sized. The peanut-free facility may suit some households, but the allergen note still lists wheat, eggs, and milk and says soybeans and tree nuts may be present. That makes it a poor fit for anyone avoiding those potential cross-contact allergens. The tradeoff is straightforward: more pieces to share, with less pastry per serving and frozen storage to plan around.
Pros:- Twelve mini pastries are convenient for sharing and portioning
- Made with real butter
- Produced in a peanut-free facility
- Frozen storage allows the package to be kept on hand
Cons:- Mini size may not satisfy buyers wanting a full-size pastry
- May contain soybeans and tree nuts
- Requires freezer space
Best for: Hosts serving a brunch spread who want individually portioned mini pastries made with real butter
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking full-size croissants or anyone who must avoid soybeans or tree nuts
- Package weight:10 oz
- Count:12 mini croissants
- Storage:Frozen
- Made with:Real butter
- Facility:Peanut-free
- Contains:Wheat, eggs, and milk
- May contain:Soybeans and tree nuts
Our verdict“Choose this pack for a shareable spread of buttery mini croissants, provided its allergen information fits your household.”
La Francaise Extra Large Butter Closed Croissants, 3 Ounce, 32 per Case
For a crowd that wants substantial, classic butter croissants, 32 extra-large pastries give this case a different job from the smaller packs in this roundup. La Francaise describes them as hand-formed with creamery butter, with 132 pastry layers intended to create a crisp exterior and soft center. That layer count and the 3-ounce size make this a more pastry-focused choice than Mini Croissants, 12 Count, which favors small portions and easy sharing. The case format takes more freezer room and suits planned group service better than an occasional breakfast for one or two. The listing says the croissants ship frozen and cannot be canceled after processing, so buyers should be ready to store and use a bulk order.
Pros:- Case includes 32 extra-large croissants
- Hand-formed and made with creamery butter
- 132 pastry layers are specified
- Described as crisp outside with a soft interior
Cons:- Bulk case requires substantial freezer capacity
- Frozen shipping requires storage planning
- Cannot be canceled after processing
Best for: Caterers, event hosts, or large households serving full-size butter croissants to a group
Not ideal for: Small households with limited freezer space or buyers who want only a few pastries at a time
- Flavor:Butter
- Shape:Closed
- Size:Extra large
- Weight per croissant:3 oz
- Quantity:32 per case
- Pastry layers:132
- Shipping condition:Frozen
Our verdict“Pick this case when you need a large supply of substantial butter croissants and have room to store them frozen.”
La Boulangère Pains au Chocolat, Individually Wrapped, 32 Count
Individually wrapped pains au chocolat make this the most convenient option here for packed breakfasts or taking a pastry along. It also adds a chocolate-filled format to a roundup otherwise centered on plain croissants: choose it when the filling matters as much as the laminated pastry. Unlike the unbaked 100% Butter French Croissants, which require baking before serving, this product description highlights individual wrapping but does not specify preparation instructions or butter content. The 32-count package and French origin may appeal to buyers looking for a pantry-style stash, while the listed product dimensions help with storage planning. The available details do not include ingredients or allergen information, so buyers with dietary restrictions should seek that information before choosing it.
Pros:- Each pastry is individually wrapped
- 32-count package suits stocking up
- Chocolate-filled pains au chocolat offer variety from plain croissants
- Listed as a product of France and non-GMO
Cons:- Chocolate filling makes it unsuitable for buyers wanting plain croissants
- Description does not specify butter content
- Ingredient and allergen details are not provided
Best for: Commuters and families who want individually wrapped chocolate pastries for grab-and-go breakfasts
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking plain butter croissants or needing confirmed ingredient and allergen details
- Count:32
- Packaging:Individually wrapped
- Product:Pains au chocolat
- Origin:France
- Non-GMO:Yes
- Package dimensions:7.112 × 26.924 × 26.67 cm
Our verdict“Choose this pack for individually wrapped chocolate pastries when convenience matters more than a plain butter-croissant format.”
100% Butter French Croissants, 1.5 oz, Frozen, Unbaked, 15 Count
This pick is for buyers who want to bake their croissants at home: the pastries arrive frozen and unbaked, giving you control over when they go into the oven and when they are served. The stated 100% butter and 1.5-ounce size set it apart from La Francaise Extra Large Butter Closed Croissants, which are larger at 3 ounces and sold in a 32-piece case. A 15-count pack offers a middle ground in quantity, but baking is part of the plan, not an optional convenience. Compared with Fresh Brand Frozen Croissants, which call for room-temperature thawing, this product description specifically says unbaked; it does not provide baking instructions. Buyers should check preparation guidance before serving and allow time for the required bake.
Pros:- Made with 100% butter
- Frozen unbaked format lets buyers schedule baking
- Fifteen pastries provide a moderate batch size
- Each croissant weighs 1.5 oz
Cons:- Requires baking before serving
- Preparation instructions are not specified in the supplied details
- Smaller per-piece size than the 3-ounce La Francaise croissants
Best for: Home bakers who want a moderate batch of small, all-butter croissants to bake before serving
Not ideal for: Anyone wanting ready-to-eat pastries or a product with baking instructions included in the listing
- Product type:French croissants
- Ingredients:100% butter
- Weight per croissant:1.5 oz
- Count:15
- Storage:Frozen
- Preparation:Unbaked
- Country of origin:USA
Our verdict“Choose these when you want to bake a moderate batch of small, all-butter croissants at home and can plan for preparation.”
Fresh Brand Frozen Croissants, 4 Count
Four croissants in a 10-ounce pack make this the smallest batch of full-size pastries among these five, a practical fit for a couple or a modest breakfast at home. The instructions call for about an hour of room-temperature thawing before eating, so this is a convenient choice when you can plan ahead but not when you want an immediate pastry. Mini Croissants, 12 Count offers more pieces for sharing, while this pack gives you fewer, larger servings. Both descriptions specify real butter and a peanut-free facility, and both note possible soy and tree nut presence. That shared allergen caveat matters: a peanut-free facility does not mean the product is free from other listed allergens or cross-contact concerns.
Pros:- Four-piece pack suits a small household
- Made with real butter
- Peanut-free facility
- Room-temperature thawing is clearly specified
Cons:- Requires about an hour of thawing before serving
- May contain soybeans and tree nuts
- Four pieces may not cover a group breakfast
Best for: Couples or small households who want a few butter croissants ready after planned thawing
Not ideal for: Large families, spontaneous serving, or anyone avoiding soybeans or tree nuts
- Package weight:10 oz
- Count:4 croissants
- Storage:Frozen
- Thawing:Room temperature for about 1 hour
- Facility:Peanut-free
- Contains:Wheat, eggs, and milk
- May contain:Soybeans and tree nuts
Our verdict“Pick this compact pack for a small household that can plan an hour ahead and is comfortable with the allergen information.”
SeaBear Bake-at-Home Jumbo Croissants, 18 Count
SeaBear’s jumbo size and overnight rise make this a strong fit for planned breakfasts where freshly baked pastries matter more than speed. The 18-count gives a household room to bake only what it needs, while the French bakery-style description points to flaky layers and an airy center. Compared with Fresh Brand Frozen Croissants, 4 Count, this pack better suits a group; compared with the Wildgrain Croissants Trio, it keeps the choice to one classic style rather than mixing flavors. That simplicity may be welcome for a brunch table, though buyers seeking variety should look elsewhere. The main commitment is timing: these need to rise overnight before baking, so they are not an easy same-morning option. They also need freezer space and should be used within four months.
Pros:- Jumbo French bakery-style croissants suit a substantial breakfast serving
- Flaky layers and airy centers are described as the intended baked texture
- 18-count pack can serve a group
- Bake only the amount needed
Cons:- Overnight rising requires advance planning
- Must be stored frozen
- Single-style pack offers less variety than the Wildgrain Croissants Trio
Best for: Hosts planning a brunch for a group who can thaw and rise pastries overnight
Not ideal for: Anyone seeking a quick breakfast or a mix of filled and plain flavors
- Quantity:18 croissants
- Style:French bakery-style
- Storage:Frozen for up to 4 months
- Preparation:Rise overnight, then bake
- Size:Jumbo
- Described texture:Flaky layers and tender, airy center
Our verdict“Choose SeaBear for a planned group brunch when jumbo, classic croissants and overnight preparation fit your schedule.”
Bridor Ready-to-Bake Croissants, 80 per Case
An 80-croissant case gives Bridor a clear role: supplying a bakery, office kitchen, or large event that can use substantial quantities. Its ready-to-bake format also makes the stated prep simpler than SeaBear’s overnight-rise croissants, though the product details do not specify bake time or whether thawing is needed. Compared with the Fresh Brand Frozen Croissants, 4 Count, Bridor is suited to repeated service rather than occasional small batches. That scale is also its chief drawback: a household may struggle to use the case efficiently, and the available information gives little detail about size, ingredients, or finished texture. Buyers who need a predictable large supply may value the format, while anyone choosing based on butter content or flavor variety has better-defined alternatives in this roundup.
Pros:- 80 croissants in one case supports high-volume service
- Ready-to-bake format is designed for baking at home or in a kitchen
- A single product type makes batch planning straightforward
Cons:- Case quantity may be excessive for occasional home use
- Available product data does not specify croissant size or ingredients
- Bake time and thawing instructions are not provided
Best for: Caterers, workplace kitchens, and other buyers who regularly bake croissants in large batches
Not ideal for: Small households or buyers who need detailed ingredient, size, or baking instructions before choosing
- Brand:Bridor
- Product type:Ready-to-bake croissants
- Quantity:80 per case
- Preparation:Ready to bake
- Pack format:Case
- Croissant variety:Not specified
Our verdict“Pick Bridor when you need a large case for regular service and can work with limited product detail.”
100% Butter French Croissants, Frozen and Unbaked, 3.5 oz, 10 Count
100% butter and a 3.5-ounce size are the defining details here, making this a focused choice for buyers who put a butter-forward French croissant ahead of flavor variety or a large case. The frozen, unbaked state leaves the final bake at home, while the 10-count is a more manageable quantity than Bridor’s 80-per-case pack. It also offers a larger stated unit weight than the 1.5-ounce 100% Butter French Croissants elsewhere in this roundup, which may suit buyers who want a more substantial pastry. The product data does not give a rise method, bake time, or storage window, so planning is harder than with SeaBear’s overnight instructions or Wildgrain’s specified bake-from-frozen timing. This is a narrow pick built around butter and size, with limited guidance and no stated assortment.
Pros:- Made with 100% butter
- Frozen and unbaked for baking at home
- 3.5-ounce size is specified for each croissant
- 10-count is smaller than Bridor’s 80-croissant case
Cons:- Preparation details beyond baking at home are not provided
- No flavor variety is specified
- The 10-count pack may not suit buyers serving a large group
Best for: Butter-focused buyers who want larger unbaked croissants in a moderate 10-count pack
Not ideal for: First-time home bakers who need clear thawing, rising, or baking instructions
- Ingredients:100% butter
- Product state:Frozen, unbaked
- Weight per croissant:3.5 oz
- Count:10
- Style:French croissants
- Preparation:Bake at home
Our verdict“Choose this pack if 100% butter and a stated 3.5-ounce size matter more to you than detailed baking guidance or variety.”
Wildgrain Croissants Trio: Plain, Almond, and Chocolate, Bake from Frozen
Three flavors and bake-from-frozen preparation make Wildgrain the most flexible choice here for a mixed breakfast spread without an overnight rise. The plain, almond, and chocolate options offer a wider range than SeaBear’s single-style 18-count pack, and the stated 18–22 minute bake time helps buyers plan serving. Its butter, flour, eggs, and real fillings give more ingredient detail than Bridor’s 80-count case, which is described only as ready to bake. The tradeoff is that these still need oven time before serving, so they cannot be eaten straight from the freezer. The product details also do not state the count or size in the trio, which makes it harder to judge how many people one box will serve. This suits households that value variety and convenience over a uniform batch.
Pros:- Includes plain, almond, and chocolate varieties
- Can be baked straight from frozen without thawing
- Specified bake time of 18–22 minutes supports meal planning
- Made with butter, flour, eggs, and real fillings, without artificial colors or preservatives
Cons:- Requires baking before serving
- Pack count and croissant size are not specified in the product details
- Filled flavors may not suit buyers who want only classic plain croissants
Best for: Households that want plain, almond, and chocolate pastries and prefer to bake directly from frozen
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a stated pack count or want pastries ready to eat without baking
- Varieties:Plain, almond, and chocolate
- Preparation:Bake from frozen; no thawing required
- Bake time:18–22 minutes
- Ingredients:Butter, flour, eggs, and real fillings
- Artificial colors:None
- Preservatives:No artificial preservatives
- Pack format:Trio
Our verdict“Pick Wildgrain for a varied breakfast box with a clear bake-from-frozen method, provided the unstated count works for your needs.”

How We Picked
I compared these nine products on the details that most affect the buying decision: pack size, pastry size, butter description, flavor variety, and the intended baking format. A smaller count can be a better fit for occasional breakfasts, while a case pack makes more sense when a household or kitchen will bake regularly. I also treated assortment as a real distinction: a mixed trio offers choice, while a plain-only pack makes repeat serving more predictable.
The order reflects how broadly each product can serve common needs, with extra weight on a useful balance of format, portion, and flexibility. Bridor ranks first for its substantial case format and ready-to-bake positioning, while Wildgrain earns a distinct place for offering three flavors. The other picks address narrower priorities, such as a compact pack, jumbo pastries, or a larger butter croissant. Product details provided here do not establish comparative taste or baking results, so I base recommendations on listed attributes rather than claims of hands-on testing.
| frozen croissant | Preparation |
|---|---|
| Mini Croissants | — |
| La Francaise Extra Large Butte | — |
| La Boulangère Pains au Chocola | — |
| 100% Butter French Croissants | Unbaked |
| Fresh Brand Frozen Croissants | — |
| SeaBear Bake-at-Home Jumbo Cro | Rise overnight, then bake |
| Bridor Ready-to-Bake Croissant | Ready to bake |
| 100% Butter French Croissants | Bake at home |
| Wildgrain Croissants Trio: Pla | Bake from frozen; no thawing required |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Frozen Croissants
Choosing frozen croissants starts with how you expect to bake and serve them. I’d compare storage capacity and serving habits before focusing on the product name, since a case pack and a small household pack solve different problems. These factors can help narrow the field even when several options look similar.
Match Pack Size to Your Baking Rhythm
Count is useful only when you compare it with how often you plan to bake. A large case can reduce repeat ordering, but it also ties up freezer space and may leave you storing pastries longer than intended. A small pack is easier to fit into an occasional breakfast routine, though it may not cover a gathering. Think through a typical week and any planned group meals before choosing a quantity. One common mistake is treating the biggest pack as the best value without considering whether you can use it comfortably. Check the package storage guidance and choose a count that fits your freezer and schedule.
Read the Baking Format Before You Buy
Frozen croissants may be unbaked, ready to bake, or intended for a different heating routine, and those formats call for different amounts of time and planning. An unbaked pastry gives you a bake-at-home step, which can suit someone who wants pastries prepared closer to serving. It also means you need to follow the package directions rather than treating the product like a finished croissant. Before choosing, look for instructions on thawing, proofing, oven temperature, and bake time where provided. Don’t assume that “frozen” means the same preparation for every product. If your mornings are rushed, the required prep schedule may matter more than the count.
Choose Portion Size for the Occasion
Pastry size changes how many pieces you need per person and whether croissants work as a light breakfast or a more substantial serving. Mini pastries can be handy for snack tables or mixed spreads, while jumbo and extra-large options can anchor a breakfast plate. A larger pastry may be less convenient when you want small portions or several flavors on the table. Consider who will be eating and what else you plan to serve. For a group with varied appetites, smaller pieces can make serving more flexible. For a simple breakfast where one pastry is the centerpiece, a larger size may make more sense.
Decide Whether Variety Is Worth the Tradeoff
A mixed assortment can make one purchase work for different preferences, but it may include flavors that some people will skip. A single-style box is easier to plan around when you already know what your household likes. For a brunch with guests, variety can reduce the need to buy separate pastries. For a regular routine, a focused pack may be simpler to store and serve. Check exactly which flavors are included instead of assuming a trio covers every preference. The right choice depends on whether your priority is a dependable repeat option or a broader selection.
Treat Butter Claims as One Part of the Decision
Products labeled as 100% butter or butter croissants give shoppers a useful ingredient distinction, but that label alone does not describe every aspect of the pastry. Size, shape, filling, baking format, and pack quantity also affect whether a product fits your needs. Avoid using a butter claim as a stand-in for information the listing does not provide, such as texture or finished flavor. If ingredients are a deciding factor, review the full package ingredient statement and allergen information. When comparing two butter-labeled options, look at portion size and count next. That makes the choice more practical than relying on one headline attribute.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which pack size makes sense if I only bake croissants occasionally?
I’d start with a smaller pack if you have limited freezer space or expect to bake only now and then. A four-count or similarly compact option makes it easier to try a product without committing to a case. Larger packs can suit a household that bakes regularly, but the extra quantity is useful only if it fits your routine. Compare the count with the number of pastries you usually serve at once. Also check the package’s storage guidance before deciding how long you can keep the product frozen.
Should I choose unbaked croissants or a ready-to-bake option?
Choose based on how much preparation time you can make room for and what the package instructions require. Unbaked croissants may call for a more involved schedule, while a ready-to-bake label signals a different starting point. The exact steps can vary by product, so read the directions before buying rather than relying on the wording alone. If you want pastries for a particular morning, check whether thawing or proofing must happen in advance. A little planning can matter more than a small difference in pack size.
Are jumbo croissants a better choice for serving guests?
Jumbo pastries can make a filling, simple serving when croissants are the main breakfast item. They may be less convenient for a spread with several dishes or for guests who prefer smaller portions. In those settings, minis or regular-size pastries let people sample more without taking a full large pastry. Consider the rest of the menu and how you want to portion the food. For a mixed brunch table, smaller pieces can offer more serving flexibility even if the total count is lower.
Is a variety pack worth choosing over plain croissants?
A variety pack makes sense when the people you’re serving want different flavors or when you want options in one box. Wildgrain’s trio includes plain, almond, and chocolate, which gives it a clear variety advantage in this lineup. A plain-only pack can be the more practical pick if you know what your household prefers or want a consistent pastry for repeat breakfasts. Think about whether the flavors will all be eaten before choosing assortment over quantity. If preferences are uncertain, variety can help; if they are settled, a single style may be simpler.
What should I check before ordering a large case of frozen croissants?
First, confirm that your freezer can store the full case while keeping the packaging intact. Next, check the total count against how many pastries you expect to serve and how frequently you plan to bake. Large cases suit regular or high-volume use, but can be awkward for an occasional household. Read the baking instructions and storage guidance so you know what preparation and handling the product needs. If this is your first time buying that format, a smaller pack can be a more manageable way to learn whether it fits your routine.
Conclusion
For a flexible large-batch pick, I’d choose Bridor Ready-to-Bake Croissants as the best overall option for buyers who can store and use a case. Fresh Brand’s four-count is the best value in convenience for a small household that wants a compact commitment, while Wildgrain’s trio is my best premium-style choice for shoppers who want three flavors in one selection. Beginners who want to start with a smaller quantity can look at the compact packs, then confirm the baking instructions before ordering. For larger portions, consider La Francaise’s extra-large butter croissants or the 3.5-ounce French croissants; for a crowd, the 80-count Bridor case is the more fitting format. Pick by the number you’ll serve, the freezer space you have, and the time you can give the baking process.
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.









